National Quality Standards

Children's education and care services covered under the Education and Care Services National Law are assessed and rated against the National Quality Standards. The process reflects a uniform approach to assessment and reporting across the range of service settings. The relevant regulatory authority in each state and territory undertakes the assessment and rating process. It is also the point of contact for any questions services may have about the assessment and rating process. - See more at:

Green Beginnings has gone through Quaity Rating Assessment and received Exceeding National Quality Standards in all 7 Quality Areas.

The Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) is part of the Council of Australian Government’s (COAG) reform agenda for early childhood education and care and is a key component of the Australian Government’s National Quality Framework (NQF) for early childhood education and care.

The new National Early Years Learning Framework - for children from birth to six years- has been developed to ensure your child receives quality education programs in their early childhood setting. This is a vital time for them to learn and develop.

The goal of EYLF and NQF is to enrich children’s learning experiences through purposeful actions by educators in collaboration with children and families. The framework’s vision is for all children to experience play-based learning that is engaging and builds success for life.

The Early Years Learning Framework describes the principles, practice and outcomes essential to support and enhance young children’s learning from birth to five years of age, as well as their transition to school.

The Early Years Learning Framework describes a vision of children’s learning, characterised by:

Belonging —recognising that knowing where and with whom you belong is integral to human existence, providing a basis for children’s interdependence and relationships with others.

Being —recognising and valuing the “here and now” in children’s lives, and viewing childhood as more than simply preparation for adulthood or for the future.

Becoming —recognising the rapid and significant learning and development that occurs in the early years, and the capability and potential of all children.

The guideline also describes a set of five learning and development areas:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity
  • Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  • Children are confident and involved learners
  • Children are effective communicators

The Early Years Learning Framework focuses on children from birth to five years; this is the bases of how we ensure that your child receives a high quality educational program.

A Families’ Guide to the Early Years Learning Framework has been developed and is available from the Department of Education